Order number: B 108 033
Price € 7,50
Shipment costs € 3,90 (worldwide)
free above € 30,00 order
Download available:
Order number: B 108 033

Strauss, Schubert | Lieder

Waltraud Meier - Joseph Breinl

Recorded at Farao Studios Munich, March 2007


  • Richard Strauss
  • 1. Cäcilie
  • 2. Winterweihe
  • 3. Wie sollten wir geheim sie halten
  • 4. Morgen!
  • 5. Die Nacht
  • 6. Befreit
  • 7. Zueignung
  • Franz Schubert
  • 8. Dem Unendlichen
  • 9. Wehmut
  • 10. Die Forelle
  • 11. Gretchen am Spinnrade
  • 12. Nachtstück
  • 13. Erlkönig
  • Richard Strauss | Vier letzte Lieder
  • version for voice and piano by Max Wolf and Ernst Roth
  • 15. Frühling
  • 16. September
  • 17. Beim Schlafengehen
  • 18. Im Abendrot

  • Waltraud Meier (mezzo-soprano)
  • Joseph Breinl (piano)
  • What’s Waltraud Meier’s secret to her 30 years of international success on stage?

    "Authentic empathy for the respective part", she tells us, "this is the only way for the audience to understand its essence." But it is more than that, it’s her charismatic acting intensity, her acting skills, her elaborate vocal technique, as well as her frenetic singing culture. She is constantly taking up new challenges, working on herself and trying to intuitively grasp a new vocal part.
    Only when she can fully identify with the song or the part, when the boundaries between the part and the self are blurred, only then can the performance be convincing, says the artist.

    With Joseph Breinl, she has found an ingenious partner whose primary concern is to equally learn, develop, and improve new things. They both aim to grasp what is written in the music, what the composer wanted to express.
    "We are servants of music, not self-exposers!"